You are very rich.

index

Hi guys, i hope you are fine. Its been long since you heard from me. (as some of you kept asking me why i haven’t dropped something here.) I guess i have been very busy. But you know that I cant be too busy to write. In fact that brings me to what i want to talk  about. Time. ‘Time is money’, Benjamin Franklin.This new month perhaps you are saying, i will accomplish what i had not done in July. Your only excuse perhaps is that you did not have time.

The truth is, if Franklin’s ideology  is to go by, the all of us are 86400 seconds 1440 minutes and 24 hours RICH. That is just in a day.                    ddd        Now let me share what i went through during my Industrial attachment period because i know you will learn from it. That fateful morning, i woke up as usual but rather later than my normal waking up time. (don’t worry, i sleep after you sleep and wake up before you wake up, its a principle.) I immediately turned to a rush mode when i remembered i had an appointment.’Lets meet in the office at 8 o’clock i have some work for you and your colleagues’  My Director had said the previous evening.

Ha! as much as i did everything like a superman, i tell you i got to the office thirty minutes late. The first thing was to be excluded from the list of those who were going out for field work. (My Job involves a lot of fieldwork) Second, my director now had a view of me as a person who can’t keep time. (But sir, its only thirty minute! i come from far! The vehicle i was using broke down. I gave all excuses) The director smiled and off we went to the field. (this i should not tell you but i was paid less than those early birds) I think the director who is my good friend wanted me to learn something. That something i indeed learned and learned it very well. Pick something too.

  1. First, Time is the most valuable asset you got. Prioritize ruthlessly the things that you give your time. My mentor says that if something is not important don’t give it your time. Things like worrying should not eat your time. Use your time well rather than spend it.
  2. Every second of your life should be used in doing something effective or constructive. Sometimes during my Industrial attachment i spent time in front of the desktop. What i was doing was not effective, was not adding value, giving cash at all. I changed and started feeding my mind. Learned how to use some basic software using the YouTube tutorials. By the way remember  Formal education will make you a living; self-education will make you a fortune.That is just an example.I later made some money by using the software to serve clients online.
  3. Know when to start and when to stop. I simply mean that as you begin to work on a project or doing anything. Be it going out with friends, fieldwork, watching constructive movies. The bottom line is know when to stop. Even God began on the first day and ended or rested on the seventh day.
  4. Last but not least, i also learned that time waits for no man. I you want something go for it right now. Because twenty years from now you will become more disappointed by the things that you did not do than by the things that you did, so throw off the bowlines,sail away from the safe harbor catch the trade winds in your sails, dream discover and explore. Especially if you are young like me. (haha)

ffff

So now you know why you are very RICH and please don’t get me wrong remember time is more valuable than money. You can get more money, but you cannot get more time. Jim Rohn.

I am now writing staff (skills and experience gained throughout this period)  on my log book, ready to leave this office because my time here is expired perhaps this is the right time to leave. To go out and do something else. Skills are good, invest your time in gaining skills because they save you in the future. Always be nice to your bosses no matter how hard they are on you, create useful connections before you leave their offices. They will always remember you for your skills.One thing i learned during my Industrial attachment period is that if someone offers you an amazing opportunity and you are not sure you can do it, say yes and learn how to do it later.

As you begin this lovely month AUGUST please let me congratulate you because you are rich. (only and only if you will invest in your time well)

Also check your company this month too will influence a lot

See you soon. Please drop a comment below.

ddddd

4 thoughts on “You are very rich.

  1. Edward Raywer says:

    Nelson, that was a very deep insight. I like your phrase, ‘Formal education will make you a living. Self-education will make you a fortune”. Now I know better that time is what makes the poor and the rich equal.

    Thanks a lot

    Like

Leave a Reply

